Passport Problems

I cannot even believe our government. One of our students applied for her passport months ago and has not received it. We leave tomorrow morning. It’s not even in transit. Her mother has tried every contact she can think of and no luck. I don’t even know what recourse she has or if she loses the cost of her trip. It’s heartbreaking.

And that’s not all. Last night, another student and her parents drove all the way to Boston, about a nine hour drive, so that they could arrive at the passport office when it opened. By 11:30 am, her mother called to tell me the passport was in hand and they were making the return trip home.

I’m all for heightened security measures. Lord knows I’m looking forward to them to provide us with safe travel to and from Europe. But, geez.

These are young women, teenagers, born and raised in the United States. It just shouldn’t be this hard.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *