Possibilities

How do we help our kids follow their dreams and not teach them to conform to everyone else’s dreams/expectations for them? How do we help them figure out who they are, where they’re headed, and if they really want to get there? How do we take the princesses and super heroes of the kindergarten/first grades and keep their imaginations and dreams alive–ignited enough to just go for it, no matter what it is?

Instead we teach them to sit in rows, follow directions, complete assignments, do what the teachers asks when she asks you to do it, take tests and fit in. To go to college, get a job, earn a good living. I don’t think those are the kids who are going to grow into adults who can think us out of this mess in which our country finds itself.

I want my kids to have a little rebel in them, to question the status quo, to ask “says who?!”, and to wonder why. I want them to stand out, stand up, stand for something. I want my son and my daughter to make the one ride they get through life EVERYTHING that it can possibly be and I want them to know it’s up to them to decide what the ride includes.

Our son Tallon was scheduled for his second amateur fight tomorrow night. He’s been training for months. Less than two weeks ago, he broke his hand in sparring. Up until three days ago, he continued to train, working without a cast and hoping that it would heal and he could continue with the fight.  With Tuesday’s follow up x-ray, it was very clear he wouldn’t be fighting this week. He was disappointed beyond belief.

As much as I worry and dread the fight, I now really get it. It’s the most important thing to him, it’s his dream, his possibility. It’s something he works for every single day as he trains. I can’t ask him to change that for me.

And let me share a secret. I think I saw my four year old who believed in Super heroes looking out of the sixteen year old’s eyes who believes in himself in the ring. Who could stand in the way of that?

One Comment
  1. Possibilities…too true. Many of our kids start out with possibilities. Yet, by the time I see them in 9th grade, they seem disenfranchised. Though they question, they question what education is doing for them. Many don’t buy into the system so they fight it in a way that doesn’t benefit their future. How can we teach them to buy into themselves? How can we teach them to play the game to get where they want to go while thinking on their own to do so? There’s so much more to say, but for now, it’s enough to say I liked your voice on this topic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *