Building Project in Progress

We’re in the process of building quite an addition. It will house our Agriculture and Technology programs. The greatest task at hand for me is actively participating as the “owner” in the oversight of the construction. We have a construction management firm that represents our interest and an on-going relationship with the architect, plus a general contractor who’s responsible for completion according to our target dates.

As a new superintendent, this is an area in which I have to rely on the expertise and advice of others. It’s a quick process to get up to speed, to ask all of the right questions and to determine how well I can trust those who are representing our interests. While it’s exciting to watch the progress of the construction and to tour the new building, it’s just as worrisome to watch as winds continually tear down the temporary enclosure and I wonder what I don’t know.

I’m very conscious of the fact that as district leader, it’s my responsibility to protect our interests. This is definitely one of the areas in which I have the greatest learning curve. However, I can already see that it helps to meet with everyone often and to keep asking questions without worrying that in asking I am revealing what I don’t know.

I keep wondering how anyone possibly knows all that there is to know about this job, with all of the different aspects, on entry. I suppose that’s why I can’t stay a “rookie” for long–there’s just too much riding on my ability to do this well. The best part? It is absolutely energizing to have the opportunity to learn this process.

One Comment
  1. A professor, and superintendent, once told me “You learn everyday what it is you are supposed to be doing.” I can only imagine at this point how many things you have put in front of you each day. I appreciate your acknowledgments that its OK to ask questions even when they may show what you do not know.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *