1 Year of Blogging

On July 11, 2006, I created G-Town Talks and posted for the first time. Since today’s July 13, 2007, that obviously means that I’ve been blogging for one year. And since I’ve been posting about two-three times per week every month, I guess I haven’t run out of things to say. It’s interesting to me that this blogging gig hasn’t died off because I’ve found a new interest. Instead it continues as part of my routine professional practice.

As I enter a new position, I wonder how it will affect the blog. Will I have as much to write about? Will I be so overwhelmed just learning the new job that I seldom have time to write? Will anyone care about the topics I’m involved in at the assistant superintendent’s level? Will it be any riskier to write from that level of management than it has been from the principal’s level?

When I consider those questions, I realize that they are the same questions I had last July. Considering that this blog’s primary purpose has been as a professional practice which helps me to process my own thinking, odds are I’ll continue to find success with it. And hopefully, readers will continue to comment which helps me to learn and consider other points of view. Perhaps I can even use it in a more public manner to influence thinking and solicit ideas of K-12 faculty and staff.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.
2 Comments
  1. Congratulations on the one year anniversary.

    I, for one, hope you will continue to blog in your new position. Although there may be more risks in going public with your thoughts at a higher level, there is also much more to be gained from increasing the conversation with the public.

    I only wish I could convince some of the leadership of our overly-large district to give this a try.

    Good luck.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *