Next Steps

We’re camping this weekend and that always provides me with lots of time to read, reflect and think. As I’m reading everything from education journals to women’s magazines, I’m thinking a lot about my new role at Gowanda. Officially, I start July 1 and even then, it’ll probably take us the summer to hire my replacement so it’ll be a while before I make the transition completely. But my planning and research are already taking on new meaning. I woke up this morning thinking about the need to form relationships with our K-8 faculty and staff, the best way to go about that, and how to build trust.

I’m also conscious of the fact that it’s a new position which hasn’t yet been defined clearly so we have to go through the growing pains of helping everyone, including me, understand the parameters of my role. The more I think about the possibilities ahead, the more excited I become.

I wonder if everyone goes through the growing pains that I’ve been going through in these past few weeks, making a decision and then wondering if I can do it. My husband says I’ve gone through this and said these same things every time I’ve accepted a new position. He says, “every time Kim, you’re the only one who thinks you can’t do it.”

He’s right and I’m done worrying about whether or not I’ve had enough education, training, or experience to take the next step. I’ll use the same skills that have carried me through every other position I’ve had coupled with the “wisdom” of getting older and the interest to always learn more. I’m moving forward with confidence and excitement about the next step. I imagine that most leaders walk forward exhibiting unfailing confidence in themselves. That’s just not me. Hopefully, my combination of moxie and vulnerability will serve me well. I wasn’t the “stereotypical” principal so I doubt I’ll be the stereotypical superintendent either. I’ve  learned from some incredible leaders like Lucinda Miner, Deb Ormsby, Sandra Craft, and Charles Rinaldi–what better training is there than that?

One Comment
  1. I don’t have my notes from my conference with me so probably don’t have the words exactly right but one presenter talked about three traits of a successful leader and the third was along the lines of healthy bit of self doubt. Seems to me that you are right on track! As you look to K-8, let me know when you want an unbiased (ha!) parental perspective from another state – I have plenty. Have a great week camping. My kid wishes she was there and says hi to the little girl at the campgound next to you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *