Teaching to Leading

My husband and I attended a retirement party this weekend. Two teachers from Randolph, a neighboring district where I was previously high school principal, were honored at a dinner.As is typical at a retirement party, colleagues, family and friends came forward to speak for each of our retirees. Their comments were heart felt, touching and funny. Pat and Carol, the retirees, also spoke with great affection about their careers and their friends.

I attended the dinner because Carol drove to my school and then to my house to be sure I would be there. Why? Because Carol’s all about the people in her life and so is Pat, an extremely successful teacher and coach.

Attending the dinner and listening to the comments about Carol and Pat got me to thinking about this job that I do now. As an administrator, there are many tasks and responsibilities that I have. Many days, they are too numerous to complete. But the primary responsibility that I have as an administrator is not unlike that of a teacher.

When I was teaching, I spent 99% of my time thinking about my students. Their unique needs and personalities, their learning styles and abilities. I thought about what I could do in my lessons to reach each of them. I built relationships. I asked them questions. I got to know each of them, as much as each would let me in.

Last night I was thinking a lot about what makes a principal or superintendent successful. I thought about all of the specific knowledge that our superintendents possess about finance, capital projects, the political scene in Albany, and school law. I thought about all of the superintendents I’ve worked for and known.

And that’s when I realized that the best superintendents are the same as the best teachers. There are teachers who have incredible depth of content knowledge but don’t ever stop teaching the content and start teaching the students. Likewise there are administrators who don’t ever figure out the leading the faculty and staff piece, they just keep managing their work.

When I am a superintendent some day, I will spend 99% of my time thinking about my BOE members, faculty and staff. Their unique needs and personalities, their learning styles and abilities. I will think about what I can do in my interactions to reach each of them. I will build relationships. I will ask them questions. And I will get to know each of them, as much as each will let me in.

4 Comments
  1. I agree with Amy. I also know that Kim is successful, because she walks the walk as well as talk the talk. That is why the student and faculty respect her. As a parent and BOE member, I have respect for her as well. Kim, keep up the great work. You are doing a great job!!!

  2. I view my job as an Assistant Principal is to do what it takes to remove the obstaces teachers face in teaching. I want my teachers to focus on teaching–they need to know that is our #1 goal.

  3. ‘There are teachers who have incredible depth of content knowledge but don’t ever stop teaching the content and start teaching the students.’

    That should be painted on every faculty room wall.

  4. Kim, for me, it is all about the people. Develop, know and support, support, support and it is amazing what they accomplish.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *