Student Apathy=Teacher Apathy

So my palms are sweating a bit because I just submitted my first post, Student Apathy=Teacher Apathy,  to LeaderTalk, a blog by school leaders for school leaders. As a contributor, I’ll be writing on the third of each month. I’m in some very good company as a blogger and so felt the anxiety of producing a good post, one that would be up to everyone’s expectations. Dr. Scott McLeod over at Dangerously Irrelevant put it all together.  

It was a different experience from writing here on G-Town Talks. This is my own blog and if readers don’t like what they see, they don’t have to return. This was harder because I realize reader expectations may be different from what I have to offer. And I care about the opinions of the other contributors, they are most of the people I read every day.

So please go check it out and especially look at the posts by the other writers–mine is just one of many voices out there and my colleagues offer thoughts that keep me learning every day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.
4 Comments
  1. I enjoyed your post. In my fourth year as a principal (second school), I believe I hav lost a bit of what made me such an effective teacher. Thanks for reminding me of that!!

  2. Kimberly,

    I concur! I’m anxious too. But not as anxious as today when my basketball team had to go into overtime and win by 1 to advance in the playoffs. A part of me is still shaking! I’ve read your article and it is very good. Again, thought provoking and real life. Exactly what we need as administrators, to reflect on what we do and for whom do we do it. thanks

  3. Kimberly,
    I can totally relate to your anxiety. I have been asked to contribute on the 13th of each month. As I have been reading the posts I am asking myself, “How can I even come close to being as insightful as these people”.
    I look forward to reading your post. Also check out this link regarding apathy that I posted to my own site that I have started for my county administrators>
    http://santacruz.middleschooladmin.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *