Day 3 – Switzerland to Italy

Well, we’re not in “Kansas” anymore. We are in a typical hotel in Italy. The entire bathroom becomes the shower, with no division between the two. Goodness knows what our kids will do with those bidets.  The rooms are sparse and our kids have to stick tight to us here. The pickpockets are generally worse in Italy. Someone asked me why I worry so much. I don’t worry as much as  I’m vigilant in watching those around us, reminding the kids to keep their passports\money secure and to pay attention. We are watching each other’s backs and it’s a good learning experience for them.

We traveled through the gorgeous Swiss alps into Italy today. The views from the bus were like nothing I’ve ever seen. We were immersed in Italian at the lunch stop which was cafeteria style. Some students did better with jumping in there and ordering than others did.

A two hour visit to Verona, Italy included Juliet’s balcony and a statue of her in the courtyard carries the legend that Frank Fonti demonstrates in this picture.  (Picture removed as requested by Gowanda Superintendent) Obviously we had a lot of fun here.  This was a dream come true for our Ms. Geist, who teaches Romeo and Juliet.

I have to say how much I’m enjoying the adults we have with us on this tour. They are open minded, fun, and helpful at every turn. Our eleven adults are enjoying euchre and I’m happy to report that Kris John and I are cleaning house.

Tomorrow is a huge day in Venice including a gondola ride. Until then, buona notte from Italia.

Special note to Julie and Linda–have delivered your information, no worries. Please know that students can always stay with the chaperones on free time if they like.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.
6 Comments
  1. Hi Kim,
    I want to thank everyone that has made this trip so wonderful for all the kids. The happiness that I hear from my son is worth every penny spent to get him there. Oh yeah could you tell Steven that he should have his money on his card by Thursday morning. The blog is wonderful and we look forward to the updates every evening. Take care have fun and stay safe. Love The Grimm’s

  2. Kim,

    Can you please get a message to Dylan that we loaded another $300.00 on his card. It may not register until Thursday or Friday at the earliest. Tell him to check then. Thanks for your help. Stay safe and have fun. Lisa

  3. Hi Jessica, All is fine here don’t worry. Have the time of your life you deserve it, do everything you can and buy what you like . kyle says Hi. Aunt Tracy

  4. Hello everyone!

    It sounds like so much fun! I hope no one falls out of the gondola! I can’t wait to see the pictures. Just think of everything you’ve already seen and how much more there is yet to see!! We love reading the blogs and have told grandparents, aunts and uncles (and a brother!) to read them.
    Can’t wait to read more! Have fun and be safe! Katie, Dad says “hi!”

    The Kerker’s

    (Kim, would you tell our independent daughter to give a call? She can call me at work on my cell phone. I’ll have it on all day, everyday. Thanks, Cindy)

  5. Dear All,
    Thank you so much for the constant updates on where you all are and how everything is going. I make a million trips a day into my den to check my computer to check on my daughter and all of you. If only I had done this before the trip I would have been in shape to go on the trip with you all. Thanks so much for watching out for all our kids and making sure they are safe. Have fun please be careful and come home soon. Love to all Pegster

  6. Hi,
    Tell Fonti looks like he’s having fun!!! Kim thank you for sending the messages! Enjoy!!!
    Linda

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *