Letter to Parents

Dear Parents of Participants Traveling on the GCS Trip to Switzerland, Italy and France:

As the trip draws near, I want you to know something important. If you’re starting to feel a bit panic stricken, if you’re thinking “why did I ever agree to let my child go on this trip?”, if you’re wishing you were going too so that you could ensure his or her safety, please know that you are completely normal.

I received this email message from a parent yesterday,

My husband seems fine about the trip but I’m really worried. I’m doing my best to hide it. Please take care of my baby!

And this from another parent today,

I know I have always told my kids to go places when they had the chance, but! Please be careful, stay in a group, listen to instructions, don’t be going out at night in a strange country, keep _______ right by your side at all times.  I have been praying and will continue praying for a safe trip for all going.  I’m getting a little crazy now so I will close. BE CAREFUL!!!!

I understand this feeling of anxiety and fear only too well. Your head tells you it’s the right thing to do, sending your child out into the big world to experience other places and cultures first hand. You want your kid to be brave and strong and enjoy all that life has to offer. But your heart screams, “please don’t let anything bad happen to my precious child!” and you wish you could just take it all back, keeping your kid at home where you know what to expect.

When our daughter was only eight years old (8 years old!), my in-laws prevailed upon me to take her to Germany where my mother-in-law maintains her family home. I’d never been out of the country and I was terrified. Had my husband not insisted, I would never have agreed. I desperately needed my mother-in-law to call me once they had safely landed. As a frugal German, this was simply not done–of course they’d be fine, she wasn’t paying for an international phone call and where would she find a pay phone?! I think she saw the look of abject fear in my eyes and relented. Here’s what I need you to know. Once I received that phone call and I knew that my daughter had arrived safely, was on solid ground in a place far away but not all that different from Western New York, I was fine. I was delighted to know she would have this opportunity and I knew it was good parenting, a way to say to my child, “you are strong and capable and you should go out and grab life for all that it has to offer.”

And yet every time my children travel, the two to three days prior to departure, I regret the decision to go and worry myself sick. It’s normal. It will pass. And I will post to the blog at the first possible opportunity. Just realize that we begin touring (without a shower!) on Saturday morning. We won’t check into a hotel until Saturday night. At first sign of an Internet connection though, I’ll be there for you with a post. So breathe easy Mom and Dad.

And by the way, the second mom who emailed is my own and she should be used to her 45 year old traveling by now! Guess we never stop worrying about and wanting the best for our children. Don’t worry Mom, I’ll follow all of your instructions. Promise. Love, Kimberly

 

7 Comments
  1. Hi Kim,

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. I would like to get a message to Kim S. that her car is now locked and everything was still there. Say “Hi” to Frank for me too! It’s a little awkward not to have him here! Keep enjoing the tour!

    Linda

  2. Kim, Thank you so much for the blog. I feel so much better just having some sort of contact with out being the overprotective mother to my 18 year old! I can’t tell you how much more comfortable I feel with you and the other teachers going on the trip. I wish I could have gone too! Maybe next time! God’s blessings for a wonderful and safe trip. I can’t wait to see the pictures!!!! Again Thank you!

  3. Kim,

    I am not connected with your school, nor have I even ever met you…just read your blog via Google Reader, nor do I have children of my own…but after reading your last post, I became a little teary eyed…your students and staff are lucky to have you!

  4. No worries about enough money. That’s another reason we are there, to help with anything the kids need. Enjoy a nice dinner with your families tonight and get them to bed early. 12 hours until we leave and the day after tomorrow we will be in Switzerland. How cool is that?!

  5. Dear Kim,

    I am one of those worried parents, but more so I am excited, extremely excited. My daughter is going to see and learn so many things. I know the are all in good hands. My biggest worry is that she hasn’t enough Euros, not enough on her AAA Visa card, what if her card doesn’t work, not enough cash, too much cash, then where is she going to keep it, and knowing I won’t be there to help her along. It will be a long trip, beginning at 4:30 tomorrow morning (especially that bus ride) and I hope they will all be able to sleep on the bus and plane! I wish you all a wonderful, safe, happy and thrilling adventure! Friendships will flourish and old ones will be renewed. I’m so thankful for the opportunity.

  6. Kim,

    Thank you for the reassuring words! I know this is the experience of a lifetime for everyone. I mirror Peg’s words: everyone be safe and thank you for all your hard work. Your hardest work is coming up – keeping track of all those teenagers! I know all our kids are in great hands though. Everyone have a great time and I’m looking forward to reading all about your adventures.

    Cindy K.

  7. Dear Mrs. Moritz,

    Thank you so much for the letter or encouragement. Please be careful with all our children. Please be careful with yourself also. Thank you so much for all the long hours of work you and all the other teachers and parents have done to make this special opportunity for our children possible. Have fun! Be safe! And come home soon and safe and thanks again for all your hard work.

    Peg R

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *