Wait A Minute Please

Cross Posted On LeaderTalk

Largely because it’s the last week of school before spring break which can be a bit crazy, I signed on to bloglines for the first time in days and found 20 posts to LeaderTalk that I haven’t read. Consequently, I missed the whole April Fool’s Day joke on Chris’ post. This turned out to be an advantage, because I got to see the answer right along with the problem.

One of the things I’ve learned as an administrator is that waiting can be a very good thing. Not when it comes to returning parent phone calls. And not when a student or a teacher requests a meeting with me. Those are things better attended to immediately.

But “wait time” can be just as effective as an administrator as it is in the classroom. When it comes to problem solving, sometimes waiting can be the best solution of all. Just like with Chris’ post, the answer presents itself along with the question.

If our school community comes to know us as efficient problem solvers, they may not take the time and the initiative to solve a problem on their own. And sometimes, their solutions turn out to be better than ours. In a practical way, this “wait time” can help too. Earlier this year I became so excited that we were finally getting new desks for our classrooms that I conducted a walk through to estimate the number, told everyone the news, then found later that the funding wasn’t going to be available after all.

Why do I know that waiting can be effective? Because I’ve learned it the hard way time and time again. In planning and problem solving for the next school year. In addressing student concerns. In working out a problem between two staff members. In responding to a complaint. And the riskiest area of all? When I’m asked what I think on an issue or a concern before I’ve spent the proper time thinking about my response or asking questions or gathering details. I have learned the lesson well over the last seven years–to wait before answering. I’m still working on it though, trying to remember to answer carefully, buy time, exercise caution, and to be prudent with my response.

Because our jobs so often entail problem solving, big and small, I often rush to answer the question or to solve the problem. I do this because I realize the next problem to be solved is probably standing on line right outside my office, just waiting to be told to me. If I don’t attend to everything right now, when will I be able to? What I’ve learned is that few things require my immediate response and most are better off “settling for a bit” before I rush in to “settle them”.

2 Comments
  1. You’re completely right, it’s important not to rush in with a solution. In some ways, suppressing our “I’ll fix it” instinct for awhile helps increase the capacity of those around us. Administrators can unintentionally teach helplessness with the quick fix.

    I heard another administrator say it like this.. “It doesn’t matter what flavor I am: grape, lemon, or lime. I’m the sucker when I walk in the room, and I better buy time to consider options whenever and wherever possible.”

    Grateful for this bit of wisdom, Kim — one of the paradoxes of leadership. And sorry to hear about your desks…

  2. A co-worker in my department has “BREATHE” in big metal letters on her wall. It actually is a garden sign that has found a new home in the HR Department. We use it often. Very nice post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *