I accept Rachel’s Challenge

     Along with two of our guidance counselors, Beth and Jennifer, I went to see an assembly at a neighboring school today. It’s called Rachel’s Challenge and you can check it out at their website. This was Rachel Scott’s story, as told through video and a family friend, Derek Kilgore. As described on Rachel’s Challenge,

Rachel Scott was the first person killed at Columbine High School on April 20, 1999. Her acts of kindness and compassion coupled with the contents of her 6 diaries have become the foundation for one of the most life-changing school programs in America – Rachel’s Challenge.
Attending this assembly was an amazing experience as an adult.  I can only imagine what it feels like for our students.  Rachel talked through her journals, essays, and friends about starting a chain reaction of compassion. I found her story, her character, her spirit to be inspirational and an excellent reminder of the difference one person can make.
     I returned to G-Town thinking about my daily interactions with students and teachers and how important they are, not to be taken for granted. I try to stand in the hallways between class periods, every time the bell rings, just like thousands of teachers across the country. I stand out there to supervise, to model that for my teachers, and to see our students. After this assembly, I realize how important my behavior is at that moment and at others. How important it is to make contact with every student, to greet each kid, to smile and acknowledge him or her. I realize that the small things we do make a difference too. One interaction at a time.
     Rachel’s Challenge was the kind of assembly program I want my own children to participate in and we’ll work hard to find a way to bring it to Gowanda. Rachel Scott touched my heart today and I accept Rachel’s Challenge to look for the best in others, to set goals and write about them, to choose my influences and to make them positive, to use kind words, and to start a chain reaction in G-Town.
3 Comments
  1. Pingback: G-Town Talks » Rachel’s Challenge at G-Town

  2. I think Rachel was such an amazing person who should be an example for everyone. I have no doubt that she had Jesus in her and she stood up for her faith in the most courageous way. I know God is very pleased.I had the privelage of hearing her father speak at my church (GCCN) in Grove City, OH years ago. I was only seven years old at the time, but he told a story I won’t forget. Then last year, I did a project on Rachel and saw how God has used her in many ways. I love her character, and I wish that everyone could live as she did. ~sarah, age 14

  3. I just wanted to comment on your blog about Rachel’s Challenge, and how amazing her father’s story is. Although I was not available to see Scott’s presentation, as an on-air personality for the Family Life Network, I know how amazing his story is. I was pleased to read that you show that example to the students. I am sure your hard work and dedication to the students and staff is a true reflection to what the school district is all about.

    A blessed alumni…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *