Randolph Central School Facebook Page

Randolph Central School District now has a Facebook page. This is a place where Facebook members can connect, communicate and collaborate. If you’re a Facebook member and are interested in the Randolph school district, please join us. The group name is Randolph Central School District, Randolph, New York.

I could just leave this post at that, right? An announcement of a relatively benign new media source. After all–this blog, the Facebook page, Twitter, YouTube videos, our school website with some amazing teacher webpages–are all on-line sources for members of our school community to COMMUNICATE. A quicker, more real time version of the good old fashioned school newsletter–a source those connected can go to for information, to ask questions, to offer opinions. And now with the Facebook page, a place to announce reunions or to find old friends, to talk about the game Friday night and how to get tickets, or to announce upcoming events.

I wonder how many people won’t think it’s benign. There are still a lot of people who don’t participate, who don’t understand and who therefore, may fear these types of media. But if I don’t step up and use them productively, how will they ever know? How will they ever see it as anything other than what they perceive?

I know on-line sources of information can’t replace more traditional media/communication tools (at least not yet)–we have members of our school community who aren’t connected here. But many of my teachers, parents and students are connected on Facebook–so why not join the conversation?

I need to lead as a superintendent. I want to step up and use the tools I hope our teachers are using. Why not a facebook page created with your class to communicate about that night’s homework assignment? Or for a sports team where all of the parents and students can join and share photos?

I know, I know. Because it’s DANGEROUS. (Read sarcasm here please.) People may do bad things on there. They may make disparaging remarks or connect in inappropriate ways. But you know what? Our fear of what could go wrong should not prohibit us from using these tools for the 99% of the community members who will do so appropriately and productively.

Are we going to make all of our decisions based on what can go wrong? Or are we going to make them based on what we make go right? And if we’re not leading the way, if we’re not stepping out as role models and as teachers to show kids the appropriate way to create content and to use these tools, who will? Who’s going to show them, through example and discussion, how to leave a digital footprint that will help them get a job, instead of telling them later that their posted content wasn’t as private as they thought and actually hurt their chances?

And if you’re worried the teachers won’t use it correctly or appropriately, please remember that we trust them with our kids every day, can’t we trust them with collaborative communication tools too? I want our teachers leading learning and out here is one of the best places to learn to lead. Let me be one of the first to raise my hand so you know it’s safe to raise yours too.

11 Comments
  1. I have also created a facebook page for my class, listed under Beaver Fifth. Students have welcomed the idea! I find that they are checking it on a nightly basis, whereas they do not check my school website nearly as often. My school facebook site is updated at least once a day with important reminders about the next day and week. Parents have joined too-what a great communication tool so they know what is going on in the classroom! I’ve posted some pictures of our wonderful field trip to the Challenger Learning Center, and will be adding more as the year goes along. I think, as a district, we should continue to embrace the technology our students are using, and use it to enhance their educational experience here at RCS.

  2. I think it is wonderful that you and the BOE are passionate about everyone using technology to the fullest extent possible. This makes me very dissappointed to go to the Randolph Website and right in the middle of the home page, front and center is an empty box that says “click here for news.” Click on it and you get a message that says, “sorry, there is no news at this time.” What does it take to make a mention on the Web page? The football team couldn’t do it, the Legos/Robotic team win couldn’t do it. H1N1 vaccine made it a couple weeks ago. Facebook is great, for the group that use it, but the Web page IS Randolph Central. You are missing the boat!

  3. Having a school facebook page is a great idea.
    However, is it necessary to unlock it for the children at school? Should children be on facebook during school from their phones/schools computers? It happens, the proof is out there.
    How about the teachers that have students as ‘friends’ on their personal pages? Is that professional behavior? I could see a ‘class’ page to be checked from HOME.

  4. Let me just say that since I have created a Facebook page for my classroom, it has been a great communication tool! More students access my Facebook page than they do my school website- FACT. I encourage my students to add me along with their parents for communication. Here I am able to post my homework assignments, videos, blogging, photos, reminders, and even chat with them in regards to homework help. It happened this evening and it was awesome! Connections are made with this great tool! Grasp it and try it! If we do not try this, what will become of the future in the classroom and our students’ learning? Education, technology, and students are shifting, we must also in the way we utilize technology.

  5. Pingback: Randolph Central School Facebook Page « Jenny Hogg’s Blogs

  6. I’m glad to see that you think teachers having Facebook pages for their class could be an effective communication tool. I’ve been considering the idea around for awhile now, but I was wary that many people might think the idea of a teacher AND students on Facebook TOGETHER might be bad. I have a Facebook page, and I get “friended” by students all the time. I always ignore the requests, as I do not think it is appropriate for students to be “friends” with me on my regular social Facebook page. I was thinking of creating another profile just for school purposes though. What an easy way to remind students of upcoming assignments, answer questions, post photos from class, Homecoming, or prom. I’m not quite convinced yet, but your post has me thinking that it might not be such a bad idea! Thanks!

  7. We did this about a year ago in Franklinville Central, http://www.facebook.com/pages/Franklinville-NY/Franklinville-Central-School-Alumni/118576725573 and it’s been a good way for our alumni to re-connect with the school. We have a board member who is on Facebook and connected to our page along with about 175 others who are mostly alumni. I really enjoy reading your blog and this article is very timely at least for me. Thanks for your courage and insight.

  8. Looks like you are already implementing one of our goals that we established last month as a board. I know how passionate you are for everyone at our school to be using technology to the fullest and I see this as another intricate part of communicating with a vast number of people. You can honestly say you talk the talk AND walk the walk!!! Way to go. I think it is a great idea.

  9. Refreshing leadership. Thank you for inspiring me to step out of my comfort zone. The toughest decisions leaders make cannot be done by consensus – they are about what is right.

    Please follow this up at some point with a “status report.” Convincing others that it is doable will require some to lead and to show the way. An update on how it is going would help us greatly!

    Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *