What Measures Success?

If everything goes well, of our 120 graduating seniors, we’re set to graduate 31 Native American students this year. Have to tell you I didn’t even think about that until a very good friend called me this week to say,

Kim, it’s being talked about on the Cattaraugus Territory that Gowanda is graduating a record number of Native American students this year, we think more than ever before in history. More than the other three contract districts combined. Whatever you’re doing, keep doing it, because it’s working.

This was from an extremely well respected member of our Native American community and of our Gowanda community. I have often shared my ideas and my frustrations with him because he was born and raised in Gowanda and he understands our struggles.

I didn’t think about the number of white or native american students because for me they are individuals, they are Devon, Terri Sue, Jamie, Morris, Jeremy, Evan, Courtney, Megan, and Presley. We’re still in the daily business, primarily my weary guidance counselors, of watching 30 students out of 120 who have some challenge between them and the diploma. We’re paying so much attention to the individuals that we won’t sit back and look at the group until we have to report data to the state.

G-Town, we all needed to hear my friend’s comment. With all of the measures that we use to evaluate “our success”, we can never forget that it comes down to Jeremiah, Cameron, Cat, Amanda, James, Alex and Brady. It comes down to them and the other 113 students about to obtain a diploma and a ticket to more opportunity.

On June 22, I won’t be thinking about our student achievement data. I’ll be thinking about the joy of standing in front of our community and congratulating each student as he or she walks across the field, diploma in hand. Some who did it easily without much help from us. Others who could incite back flips from me if I was capable. 🙂

That’s what I’m talking about!

2 Comments
  1. WOO HOO Gowanda! I’m so glad we are finally getting some pride in Gowanda. I love the fact that we have a growing number of graduates. Congratulations to Gowanda faculty that is awesome! Something has definitely changed at good old G Town.

    love you mom!

  2. Kim I am very glad to hear that there are 120 seniors graduating that is fantastic!! the school is doing something right if that many are graduating.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *