Viva La France

Good Grief. 7 euros for 30 minutes and a French keyboard, I must be dedicated to this blogging gig. Yesterday, we traveled by train to France and then visited Notre Dame and Sacre Coeur. My favorite part of France is the artist square and I purchased a wonderful trio of paintings there to remember my trip by. Our students learned tolerance with the gypsies trying to tie bracelets on their wrists and then charge them–which no one fell for, but some tolerated better than others. Then the sketch artists hit and some thought they were just being sketched for the heck of it– only Otis told the guy forget about it, I am not paying for that!

We had fun at dinner, the students have really bonded, laughing and having a great time. But none more fun than on the stroll to the bus after dinner; through the Red Light district to the Moulin Rouge. Thought I might lose John or Tallon for good there! It was all in good humor and since my son is by far the youngest at 14, I am sure they will all survive it–Jimmy says he is definitely coming back to Paris now.

Today is going to be really terrific. We have a guided tour of the city, followed by Versailles, and tonight–a river ride followed by a trip to the top of the Eiffel Tower. It will be one of the most exciting days of the tour.

The days are very long, the students excellent, and the trip well worth the time and money. Know that we are safe; getting along fantastically; and missing you all. My traveling companions are wonderful, Mrs. Dempsey and Mr. Schindler excellent to work with. Love to you all, from Paris. Kimberly 

11 Comments
  1. Pingback: Randolph Readers Share Space with G-Town | Randolph Writes

  2. WOW! Sounds like you are having some excitment over there. We can’t wait to get your updates and see the latest pics. Tell justin i will write later with the sabres score. I’m guessing the phone cards aren’t working in france. Call when you can, stay safe….ellen pope

  3. Hi Kim Thanks for the blog.We are truely enjoying your messages and also the pictures on eftours.Thanks to all the chaperones for giving courtney and her peers a trip of a lifetime.Tell court we miss her but are enjoying having clean towels lol. Lori and Kim

  4. Hi Everyone! I have been thinking about all of you! It sounds like your trip is fantastic! I have to say I am so jealous! I worried so much about that one student who had to drive to Boston. I am so glad everything worked out with that! I love reading the updates, keep them coming! I can’t wait to hear all the stories and look at all the pictures! Have a great time and be safe!
    Say hello to everyone 🙂
    Mrs. Propp

  5. What a hoot! I can only imagine what it’s like with all the kids. I wish I could of hid in John’s suitcase and come along for the ride. Enjoy – thanks again for keeping us in mind and spirit.
    Love to all of you too.
    Jude

  6. Thanks so much for your blogging. I know it must be inconvenient at times. Paris sounds so exciting, I find myself wishing I was there experiencing it first hand. I can’t believe how much you are packing in! I’m glad everyone is having such a great time.
    My love to Allison.
    Margaret

  7. Kimberly,
    Thanks for these great blogs and I am so glad that you and Tallon are having a great time. You have brought back so many great memories for me. (See I do remember some things) When you describe something you have seen that day, it brings back our wonderful trip.
    Wanted to let you know that dad and I are fine.
    I look forward to your blog each day.
    Enjoy your trip. Love you, Mom

  8. Hi Kim,
    Thanks again for the blog!! We are thinking of all of you too, and miss you guys. We are so happy that you are having a reat time! Say hi to everyone, Frank sends a “hello” to Bill, and give Kara a big hug for me!!!

    Look forward to hearing more great news!

    Linda

  9. Glad to hear all is well and the students are enjoying the trip. It brings back many memories of my recent trip there. Hopefully the weather has been good and you have been able to see everything. The Red Light District is an eye opener!!! Have fun and stay safe.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *