It Never Hurts to Ask

Our district technology committee met today after school to talk about how to spend the rest of this year’s money and to work on next year’s plan. In the course of the discussion, I was able to advocate for additional computer lab space. Our teacher on the committee, Sharon H., helped support the request.

Currently in our 9-12 building, we have one MacLab and one lab on a cart that few seem to like. As much as I’ve encouraged our teachers to move forward with technology, I also know that they jockey for this one lab and struggle with issues including speed and screen doors.  Ideally, we would add an additional lab for teachers to use with their classes and one that’s open all day for students to use from study halls. We managed to formulate a plan to add significant numbers of computers to our library, where we have plenty of space and a need to more toward Library 2.0. Our technology coordinator, Doug Pine, just makes it happen.

In the future, I’d love to create an additional lab in what’s currently our Senior Lounge. Love the idea of an area for our Seniors only as we’ve created it, but have to admit I’d trade it in a heartbeat for an additional computer lab. There was excellent support from the committee, including our superintendent.

What if I’d just assumed it was asking too much? Once again, my belief that it never hurts to ask is confirmed.  It’s my job to listen to the teachers and students in our building and then evaluate how we can make it better.  I’m glad that our superintendent and the committee listened to a  reasonable argument for an expenditure that can significantly impact student learning.

It’s certainly prudent to never accept what “is” without questioning “but how can it be better?” Good thing that’s my strong suit.

One Comment
  1. Hi Ms. Moritz,

    MIT is running a nationwide vocab contest, and I think it may be of interest to your readers. Actually, I have no idea if that is true, but I thought I would try…

    It is being hosted at Brainyflix.com. We are trying to get high schoolers to teach other SAT/ACT vocabulary, and they’ll be using a feature we’ve built called Brainypics flashcards, which lets users pair a word to images and sentences of their making. Our end goal is to create a free resource online that can help high schoolers prep for the big test, and we could use all the help we can get publicizing & getting teachers/kids involved.

    We’ll be awarding prize money to the student and his/her school who has the “best” Brainypic as voted on by the public as well as iTunes to Finalists and top contributors. We will double the prizes if we can get students to make 4 unique Brainypics for each word on our word list. Due date for submissions is May 22. More details at http://brainyflix.com/main/contest_rules.

    Please let me know if you could write a short blurb about us.

    Thanks,
    Jack

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *