Pass It On

Our Building Improvement Team is made up of teachers, support staff, parents, community members, students, and me. We have a generosity drive each year, where our students and staff raise money to help make the holidays better for a few area families.

I received the coolest phone call ever from one of our families from last December. Seems they went shopping, bought about five bags of toys, and want us to distribute them to a needy family this year. As it turns out, they’re having a much better year this holiday season and they want to give back. That’s the best example of generosity I could possibly hope for—not a phone call asking if we can help them out again–but one that says “it’s our turn to help someone else”.

10 Comments
  1. Doing things to help other people in a time of need like this is awesome and people shold do more things like this it would really make our world a better place to live.

  2. I think that helping a family out is better than getting anything for Christmas. Knowing that someone is grateful for what we have done for them makes our holiday better. I am glad to hear that they want to help someone. It means that we have influenced them. But i think that giving is better than recieving because it makes other people happy and it makes you smile.

  3. It’s very rare that I see or hear about people who actually give instead of take. It’s amazing to hear that someone gave this christmas when they could have taken. Everyone is so interested in getting an ipod or xbox or psp or ps3 or someother technological device that is at the top of their christmas lists. Even though it’s not thanksgiving, the time of giving, christmas can be the same…people should want to give to others what they don’t want or need. The urge to take is just a sign of selfishness.

    I used to be selfish, but isn’t everyone once in their life?? I mean, what is it with people wanting and wanting and wanting?? Yes, I was like that, but I see that that’s all people are like, and when it comes to those who are in need, they don’t care. I’ve changed my way of thinking and wanted to be one who helped. I don’t often show it, but I do help. It’s a new way of living and people should try it sometime.

  4. I think its awesome that there are groups that people form to help out the people that need it. 🙂

  5. I think that it was great for one to step up and give back! It shows what kind of people the world is still surrounded by who sometimes go unoticed. I love how there are actually people out there who care about others, and are willing to give to those in need. Go Gowanda!!

  6. Durring the holiday season, family is what is most important to everyone, but there are many families in need. The holiday season is a time when people are incouraged to help and support those in need. Though many people speak illy of Gowanda, this isn’t such a bad place. Community is tight, and generosity is great especially durring this time of year. I think our next step should be to carry out the season of giving all year long, Christmas isn’t the only time of need, and if we continue to promote generosity maybe others will follow, and Gowanda will begin to be remembered as a great little town. Happy Holidays and best wishes.

  7. I think its great that people are finally realizing that Christmas is all about giving not about receiving. I always love getting up Christmas morning and seeing the faces of my brother and sisters as they open their presents, their faces just light up with a smile. I also love being able to give things to my friends even if it is just some cookies and a card because its the thought that counts.

  8. Response to Mrs. Moritz’s “Pass it on” blog…..This is what christmas is really about. Its about helping someone out who doesnt have it as good as you do, or even if they have it better. Possibly affecting and helping someones life is so much more valuable than the latest ipod, or a psp, or something to that effect. Even something small like a smile or a laugh or even a genuine hug just to comfort a person and reassure them that everything will be ok. Not only will this make the person, or people, feel good but it also gives you a sense of pride. Actually yesterday, me and dave were heading to the mall and we drove by this father and son and inside the car was the father and in front of the car was this very young boy trying to push his dads car in the rain. Of course right away i started feeling guilty i didnt stop and i had to turn around. The father was tryin to jump start it (if you dont know what that means…..look it up) so me and dave got in the back and pushed it because it takes alot more speed to jump start a car than the boy was giving. The car started and right away i had a smile on my face and drove away feeling better about myself. So its not about recieving, its about giving. There are to many selfish people in the world, so dont be one of them and help bring alittle more faith to this world.

  9. I think that if I were a rich girl (nah nah nah nah nah nah nah nah) I would donate a lot and do a lot for my town. I wouldn’t just sit and let people live without happiness. I’d have to make it a better place for others, espcially when I myself am not happy.

    =]

    ~Melissa Anne

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *